Here Are the 6 GOP Senators Who Voted The Impeachment Constitutional

Here Are the 6 GOP Senators Who Voted to Impeach Trump

( – On Tuesday afternoon the Senate decided, by 56 votes to 44, that the impeachment trial of a former president – who can’t be removed from public office – is constitutional. All 50 Democrat senators voted in favor of the controversial decision, but six Republicans also supported the decision. Who are the renegades who turned on President Trump?

  • Senator Ben Sasse (R-NE) – A long-time Trump critic, Sasse refused to support the former president during his campaign and has repeatedly come out with comments against him.
  • Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA) – A generally solid conservative, Toomey broke ranks with his party on January 9 when he said he thought the president had committed an impeachable offense in the run-up to the January 6 Capitol riot.
  • Senator Mitt Romney (R-UT) – Failed presidential candidate Romney has never supported President Trump and voted to convict in the Democrats’ first attempt.
  • Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) – Collins, from the liberal wing of the GOP, is another Republican who has opposed President Trump since he launched his election campaign.
  • Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) – Another liberal Republican, Murkowski was already showing her lack of support for Trump well before the November election.

  • Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA) – Last month, Cassidy was calling the second impeachment process unconstitutional. Now he’s changed his mind – but it’s still unclear if he’ll vote to convict.

These six broke party lines to proceed with a trial that’s likely to lead nowhere.

Copyright 2020,